Gabe Reviews Rocket League

My son Gabe just turned nine years old. He shares a lot of interests with me: superheroes, dinosaurs, baseball, movies, and of course video games. We play a lot of Xbox One together, and I thought it would be fun to have Gabe review some games that he loves. So without further ado, here are his thoughts on one of our favorites, Rocket League.

(Note: I’ve bolded questions I asked Gabe. I’m typing his answers exactly as he says them.)

How would you explain Rocket League to someone who has never played the game before?

It’s a really fun game where you are remote controlled cars where you try to hit a ball into a net, so it’s basically soccer, except you drive cars. There’s a mode where you get super powers, there’s one where it’s basketball, there’s one where it’s ice hockey, and there’s a one on one, two on two, three one three, and four on four.

maxresdefault-3

What is your favorite part of the game?

The celebrating.

What’s your least favorite part of the game?

Losing.

Do you like the graphics?

I like them, I think they’re really good, pretty good. It just feels like the graphics work really well with the game.

rocket-league-10

How is the sound?

I like the music, I like the cheering when you score, I like the blowing up sound, I like the noise of the cars when you drive, and when you boost. So they’re pretty good altogether.

How are the controls?

Everything’s good. Except for one thing: it confuses me, because you have to click the right trigger to drive, and it confuses me because every time I drive I hold the stick up, and that’s not how you have to drive. So that’s the only thing, everything else is good.

How much would you spend on the game if you had a job, you bum?

45 dollars, if on sale: 30.

How is the online multiplayer?

I think it’s really, really fun, except when your ping is really bad because that just makes everything go crazy. Otherwise, it’s good.

rocket-league-xbox-360

Would you tell people to buy this game?

Yes.

Anything else you want to say about it?

The only other thing is, when the servers are down, as my dad says, or if there’s a glitch or whatever, it’s really, really disappointing, because you can’t play it at all. Otherwise, it’s like one of my favorite games ever!

Give it a score.

Like, 99 bagillionbazillion. I don’t know. Just really, really, really, really, really, really awesome. (then he squealed and clapped his hands together.)

 

Bonus: the reviewer and dad: IMG_20170224_155713.jpg

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

